Faith

Peace I could not purchase
On a velvet jannimaz
Escapes easy, those calming sighs
a remarkable ascension, on soft turquoise.

Unerring faith, a submission blind
question not, you need no lathe
to fashion inquiry
of a critiquing kind.

I cupped my hands, my eyes
followed those furtive palm lines
seeking solace from earth’s woes
heavens descended, so sublime.

A tear followed, the cheek cried
Anguish, vanish, pleaded I
there must be more to being
than to revel in reverie light

I did not ask, nor did I seek
the predicament of a long lie
soothed I am, serene smile
in the glint of the surma

in his quiet eyes.


For Noel, who became a Muslim today::Honolulu, Hawaii: 18-XII-2009


Notes: Jannimaz = prayer rug; Surma = a cosmetic eyeliner, often worn before prayers by Muslims or on festive occasions in South Asia (probably elsewhere too).

Copyright G. Salim Mohammed 2009.

This entry was posted in Faith, Hawaii, poems, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment